You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-07 01:50:55

mocambo
Member
Registered: 2017-09-24
Posts: 27

[SOLVED] Libreoffice "General import/export error." when opening PDF

Hello !

Libreoffice-still 7.2.5-3.0 on Archlinux throws "General error. general input/output error" when opening PDF documents. Tried many different PDF's, also simple PDF generated by LO Writer itself, w/o success. Can anyone confirm this ?

Upgraded Libreoffice to Version: 7.3.0.3 / LibreOffice-fresh and the problem persist.

I suspect, its not caused by Libreoffice but by some kind of dependency.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by mocambo (2022-04-07 13:57:41)

Offline

#2 2022-04-07 07:09:43

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Libreoffice "General import/export error." when opening PDF

Good catch: using strace on soffice reveils:

[pid   974] execve("/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/../program/xpdfimport", ["/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/../"..., "/tmp/82aT3Z", "/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/../"...], 0x569e2480 /* 22 vars */ <unfinished ...>

lddtree  /usr/lib/libreoffice/program/xpdfimport shows:

/usr/lib/libreoffice/program/xpdfimport (interpreter => /lib/ld-linux.so.2)
    libpoppler.so.118 => None
    libz.so.1 => /usr/lib/libz.so.1
    libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
    libm.so.6 => /usr/lib/libm.so.6
    libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/libgcc_s.so.1
    libpthread.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0
    libc.so.6 => /usr/lib/libc.so.6

But libpoppler.so.113.0.0, so libreoffice got pushed to stable and poppler was not.
testing worked fine.

Offline

#3 2022-04-07 07:35:07

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Libreoffice "General import/export error." when opening PDF

argh. of course. Now I pushed libpoppler.119 and I am forced to rebuild all of libreoffice.. :-)

Offline

#4 2022-04-07 11:36:31

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Libreoffice "General import/export error." when opening PDF

Ok, at least libreoffice-still has been rebuild (libreoffice-fresh will follow). I can open PDFs now.

Thanks again for reporting. :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB