You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-02 21:10:18

carlob
Member
Registered: 2017-09-02
Posts: 1

Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Hello,
I have an old Archbang installation that was not synchronised for a lot of time. Archbang followed Arch and does not seem to provide 32 bit repositories any more.
Archlinux.org asks for pacman => 5 to do a major upgrade, even changing the repositories for 32 bits did not resolve the issue.
So I ask if it is a good idea or even possible to migrate directly to archlinux32 without waiting for november.
Are the terse instructions under https://archlinux32.org/download/ sufficient to perform such an upgrade?
Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Offline

#2 2017-09-03 21:52:11

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Hi

If you don't have luck with the official archlinux packages for i686, you won't have more success with archlinux32.
That said, you might get through the update process by:

  • switch your mirror to https://archive.archlinux.org/repos/...

  • pacman -Syu

  • repeat above steps until you can upgrade against a current archlinux mirror

  • switch to archlinux32 by the steps you mentioned

Regards,
deep42thought

Offline

#3 2017-11-11 12:12:11

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

If get some time will look at building a 32bit version of ArchBang. As for updating it should still be possible to update with new repos, provided you do not have any aur packages (pacman -Qm).

Offline

#4 2017-11-12 16:39:30

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Have managed to build ArchBang using archlinux32 repos, currently uploading a beta iso for testing .....

Offline

#5 2017-11-12 16:47:08

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Ah. Cool.

Offline

#6 2017-11-12 18:01:57

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Mmh, Archbang 32: I get key errors when installing a package from one of the Archlinux32 mirror (the "just to sign packages" key)..

Offline

#7 2017-11-12 18:28:45

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Well it is beta, might need to add archlinux32 keyring....

Offline

#8 2017-11-12 18:39:37

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

I am assuming the issue is with pacman-init service I need to change it to use archlinux32 keyring

Offline

#9 2017-11-12 18:51:48

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Yes:

pacman-key --init
pacman-key --populate archlinux32

Also the mirrors are disabled per default, don't know if it's best to let the user choose.

Offline

#10 2017-11-12 21:01:25

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Could unlock mirrors at some point, changes to pacman-init made and uploading new iso wink

Have a feeling installer may not work out of the box too....

Am a little selfish as I would love to run Arch again on my old 32bit laptop

Offline

#11 2017-11-13 16:25:00

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Am uploading an updated iso with a couple of small fixes. Need to test installer under Virtualbox just to make certain there are no hidden 64bit issues.

One thing I did notice is that archiso is not fully up to date, mkinitcpio still uses old syntax (something to watch for!)

Offline

#12 2017-11-13 17:52:46

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

I merged upstream into archiso32 - the next release should contain the syntax change (stings -> arrays)

Offline

#13 2017-11-13 18:09:45

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Looks good. Did a complete install with the second beta version. :-)

Offline

#14 2017-11-19 12:57:42

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 36

Re: Migrate old Archbang 32 to Archlinux32

Would be handy to have Virtualbox running for testing, my attempts to get it running have failed. Hard drives images do not get created. This is with me running

mrgreen@arch32 ~]$ pacman -Qq | grep virtualbox
virtualbox
virtualbox-host-modules-arch

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB