You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-27 08:34:08

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

What to test?

Hi @tyzoid and @deep42thought!

I'v run an update on my test unstall of Arch32
glibc (2.25-2 -> 2.25-5), keyrings, pacman (5.0.1-5 -> 5.0.2-2)

Do you have any suggestions what to install (WM, DE, applications) so I can give you relevant test results?

$ inxi -Fxxxz
System:    Host: antix17 Kernel: 4.10.1-antix.1-486-smp i686 (32 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.6 dm: slim
           Distro: antiX-17.a2_386-full keerfa 19 March 2017
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: 1001HA v: x.x
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: 1005HA v: x.xx
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 1601 date: 04/18/2011
           Chassis: type: 10 v: x.x
Battery    BAT0: charge: 12.4 Wh 100.0% condition: 12.4/21.5 Wh (57%) volts: 12.3/10.8
           model: ASUS 1005HA Li-ion serial: N/A status: Full cycles: 0
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N270 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB
           flags: (nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3199
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/1600 MHz 1: 1600 MHz 2: 1600 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:27ae
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x600@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.5 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:27d8
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.1-antix.1-486-smp
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet
           driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: ec00 bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 1969:1062
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
           driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 1814:3090
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 32.0GB (61.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_SSD_PM83 size: 32.0GB serial: S0XLNSACA03025
Partition: ID-1: / size: 30G used: 19G (63%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 30G used: 19G (63%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 56.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 158 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 159.2/2008.6MB
           Init: SysVinit v: 2.88 runlevel: 5 default: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.111 running in lxterminal) inxi: 2.3.8

(will update when I will have installed inxi on ArchLinux32)

I would like to add that I'm using btrfs subvolumes for my system so I can easily take a snapshot, install and configure something and if it doesn't work go back to the old snapshot. I also can use different configuration in different snapshots like one for a system with lxde and another for a system with lxqt, for example.

Last edited by eugen-b (2017-07-27 09:28:27)

Offline

#2 2017-07-27 16:17:39

tyzoid
Administrator
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 90

Re: What to test?

Thanks. Anytime I make a release of the iso, I do some limited testing to make sure everything is still sane and in working order. The problem is package coverage, so if there's something here that you feel is important that isn't tested, that would be a good place to start.

Here's the steps that I do:
1. Boot each iso, making sure that I can get to a root prompt.
2. From the i686 iso, go through the install procedure:
2. a. Install base, base-devel, grub, vim, xorg, xfce4, xfce4-goodies, networkmanager
2. b. Configure hostname/locale/timezone, to ET/New York, as needed
2. c. Enable services
3. Reboot and verify that the OS boots into tty.
4. Verify internet connectivity
5. Log in as root, and launch startxfce4

If you want to test with a display manager, or with something other than xfce4, that would be great. I use this as a baseline to make sure that the critical components still work:
* systemd
* grub
* X11
* Networking
* keyboard
* mouse

Eventually, I want to get openQA configured, but I haven't had time recently to spend getting it up and running. If you have some time, could you perhaps consider helping me get that set up instead of focusing on manual testing for the time being?

Offline

#3 2017-07-28 09:29:32

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

I will happily test manually an LXDE, an LXQt and maybe a MATE system then. But I would prefer not install each new ISO and configure the DE, instead I will look how the DEs "roll" with updates.

I've bookmarked
http://open.qa/documentation/
https://bitbucket.org/emarx/openqa/wiki/FAQ
https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/OpenQA

But honestly this looks like a task which is beyond my capabilities. I will look into it, but cannot commit myself to setting it up.

Last edited by eugen-b (2017-07-28 09:30:01)

Offline

#4 2017-07-28 16:43:49

tyzoid
Administrator
From: Ann Arbor, MI
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 90

Re: What to test?

Specifically with OpenQA, the main issue is creating PKGBUILDS for arch so that we can configure it. The problem is that OpenQA depends on a lot of CPAN modules not included in the arch repos, or AUR, so some of it is just getting those packages created. IIRC, that part is more straightforward.

I can put together a list of those later today.

Offline

#5 2017-07-30 09:27:20

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

I've been able to install MATE with LightDM. Everything works just fine!

But failed to install LXQt with SSDM. SDDM fails to start. I'm looking what I might be missing. To be continued ...
Update: I tried troubleshooting like here, but still systemctl sttus sddm shows "failed". The I tried

# sddm --example-config > /etc/sddm.conf

and got

sddm: /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0: version `OPENSSL_1.0.2d' not found (required by /usr/libQt5Network.so.5)
sddm: /usr/lib/libssl.so.1.0.0: version `OPENSSL_1.0.2d' not found (required by /usr/libQt5Network.so.5)

That looks like openssl or s.th. similar isn't up to date. Edit: Wrong, openssl and sddm are current (same versions on Manjaro Testing). But qt5-base isn't: 5.8.0-11 vs 5.9.1-3. So, I'll wait for an update and try again.

Last edited by eugen-b (2017-07-30 10:12:04)

Offline

#6 2017-07-30 21:52:34

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

My inxi -F from MATE

[eugen:~]->>> inxi -Fxxxz        
System:    Host: arch32 Kernel: 4.11.5-1-ARCH i686 (32 bit gcc: 7.1.1)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.22.15-1) info: mate-panel dm: lightdm Distro: Arch Linux
Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: 1001HA v: x.x Chassis: type: 10 v: x.x
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: 1005HA v: x.xx BIOS: American Megatrends v: 1601 date: 04/18/2011
Battery    BAT0: charge: 12.0 Wh 100.0% condition: 12.0/21.5 Wh (56%) volts: 12.4/10.8
           model: ASUS 1005HA Li-ion serial: N/A status: Full cycles: 0
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N270 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3200 
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/1600 MHz 1: 800 MHz 2: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 945GSE Express Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:27ae
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.3) drivers: intel (unloaded: modesetting)
           Resolution: 1024x600@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GME x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:27d8
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.11.5-1-ARCH
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8132 Fast Ethernet
           driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: ec00 bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 1969:1062
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
           driver: rt2800pci v: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 1814:3090
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 32.0GB (77.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SAMSUNG_SSD_PM83 size: 32.0GB serial: S0XLNSACA03025
Partition: ID-1: / size: 30G used: 24G (79%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 30G used: 24G (79%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 52.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 129 Uptime: 41 min Memory: 229.6/2009.6MB Init: systemd v: 232 Gcc sys: N/A
           Client: Shell (zsh 5.3.1 running in mate-terminal) inxi: 2.3.20 

96d6c16f0446d5caf988bb9b88610e2517227f86.png

Last edited by eugen-b (2017-07-30 22:04:17)

Offline

#7 2017-08-03 16:54:53

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

I tried to install lxde-gtk3 on the install from 2017-08-01 ISO. I used to thing I know how it works, but Arch proved me wrong. ;P
I cannot login to TTY1 as user, I can loging to other TTYs.
Either the package group is not complete or I was missing s.th.
For example the LXDE menu contained only Run and Leave first. Then I played with all kinds of settings (panel, lxappearance) and slowly the $HOME folder got populated. But a gtk theme is missing by default, probably intentional.
And then I wasn't able to boot to GUI anymore. I found out it was a deprecated libinput config for tap-to-click, solved with Arch Wiki -> libinput.
The LXDE settings don't survive a reboot.
Probably no issue which would not have happened in Arch mainline.

Update: After some random fighting LXDE-gt3 with lxdm-gtk3, netctl set to autostart works as expected.

Last edited by eugen-b (2017-08-03 18:02:25)

Offline

#8 2017-08-07 13:26:46

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 448

Re: What to test?

qt5-base (/usr/lib/libQt5Network.so.5) is giving me headaches since quite a while, because it appears in quite a lot failing package builds as error - e.g. "known issue" (but unsolvable for me, so far).
Have a look at the list of broken packages.
Also, the dependency graph of qt5-doc, qt5-tools and qt5-webkit is quite confusing, thus I can't really tell, which package might be the root of the problem.

Offline

#9 2017-08-07 13:31:45

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 448

Re: What to test?

btw: if you give me a list of perl packages that need to be created for openqa, I might be able to help out easily - I have a script for easy creation of perl packages - I use it to manage my small collection of perl packages

Offline

#10 2017-08-07 22:43:29

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

@deep42thought, both your questions are beyond my knowledge. I can recommend to write an email to Manjaro mailing list, for example. Or get in contact with other distro maintainers among the Arch based, or with the Arch dev people.

Offline

#11 2017-08-08 14:09:59

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 448

Re: What to test?

FYI: I created some perl packages which seem to be needed for openqa (I couldn't find the dependency list mentioned in the documentation) and put them into my repository.
However, my latest effort for a openqa PKGBUILD still fails to build.

Offline

#12 2018-02-13 13:43:11

eugen-b
Member
Registered: 2017-07-09
Posts: 55

Re: What to test?

I'm happily using archlinux32 [testing] and [community-testing] repos for a long time and it was not before the update to mate 1.20 until I got my first issues.

The issue is that on mate-netbook layout clicking icons of open windows (mate-window-picker-applet) doesn't get them focused, instead they get "hidden" and I need to right click on the icon, select unmaximize to get them focused.

Screenshot_at_2018-02-13_14-33-58.png

I can switch between windows with Alt+Tab only.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB