You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-16 16:46:18

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 331

archlinux32-keyring issues

Some keys in archlinux32-keyring expired on short notice and were replaced / extended.
To get the latest keys, run

pacman-key --refresh-keys

and update archlinux32-keyring before any other packages:

pacman -S archlinux32-keyring
pacman -Syu

Offline

#2 2018-06-16 21:57:08

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 172

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

Thanks, that had been puzzling me for a little over a week as I recall.  Thanks for the prompt workaround/fix - worked perfectly!

Offline

#3 2018-06-16 22:06:24

bulletmark
Member
Registered: 2018-05-30
Posts: 15

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

That first command above hangs forever on my system presumably because it is behind a firewall (which I have no control over) which is blocking the outbound hkp connection. How can I manually update those keys?

Offline

#4 2018-06-17 06:22:53

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 548
Website

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

You can try the tipps on https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … mport_keys

I would try if switching the keyserver and using HTTP port 80 work.

Offline

#5 2018-06-23 09:54:08

hm
Member
Registered: 2018-04-18
Posts: 2

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

bulletmark wrote:

That first command above hangs forever...

... not forever, only a minute or so, just be a little patient

Offline

#6 2018-06-23 23:45:16

bulletmark
Member
Registered: 2018-05-30
Posts: 15

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

hm wrote:

... not forever, only a minute or so, just be a little patient

Yes I realized that later on after I posted. The command sits there for a ridiculously long time with no output so it seems to the user that it is hanging on a connection. So just crappy software design.

Offline

#7 2018-06-24 00:09:56

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 172

Re: archlinux32-keyring issues

Right.  At a guess on my old system it took more like 5 minutes to refresh keys.  I considered posting to that effect, but the way you phrased your enquiry made it sound like you'd already diagnosed that your firewall was causing trouble.

At least the software does tell you what it's doing before it seems to hang.  It would be nicer if it printed dots or something, but since this tool is just a wrapper for gpg's key management functions, I guess its to gpg's team you should make your complaint.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB