You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-08 23:41:32

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 315

icu broken

It seems, I managed to break several packages by updating icu. The current list (known to our database / me) is:

i686/community/gitlab-10.8.4-1.0-i686
i686/community/mysql-workbench-6.3.10-7.0-i686
i686/extra/firefox-62.0-1-i686
i686/extra/thunderbird-60.0-4-i686
i686/community/0ad-a23-4.0-i686 (0ad-a23-6.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/aegisub-3.2.2-28.0-i686 (aegisub-3.2.2-30.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/calibre-3.31.0-1.0-i686 (calibre-3.34.0-1.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/haskell-hakyll-4.12.3.0-117.0-i686 (haskell-hakyll-4.12.4.0-67.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/kbibtex-1:0.8.1-2.1-i686 (kbibtex-1:0.8.1-3.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/pandoc-citeproc-0.14.3.1-133.0-i686 (pandoc-citeproc-0.14.8.1-1.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/community/scribus-1.5.4-1.0-i686 (scribus-1.5.4-5.0-i686 now available in [community])
i686/extra/chromium-69.0.3497.92-1.0-i686 (chromium-70.0.3538.77-2.0-i686 now available in [extra])
i686/extra/libreoffice-fresh-6.1.1-1.0-i686 (libreoffice-fresh-6.1.3-1.0-i686 now available in [extra])
i686/extra/libreoffice-still-6.0.6-3.0-i686 (libreoffice-still-6.0.7-1.0-i686 now available in [extra])
i686/extra/mpd-0.20.21-1.0-i686 (mpd-0.21.1-1.0-i686 now available in [extra])

If you require any of those packages (or packages which depend on those), please postpone updates, until we rebuilt those packages.

Offline

#2 2018-11-10 21:41:39

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 159

Re: icu broken

Thanks for keeping this list up to date.  As far as pacman -Qi reports, I only need libreoffice-still rebuilt and it seems you've done that already.

Just updated, and libreoffice still loads and was able to load an odt of mine.  Thanks for working on this!

Also, this explains why this announcement in my RSS reader keeps getting flagged as new.

Edit: By the way, I'd be surprised if you manage to rebuild firefox without getting linking errors.  I've been using mozilla's official i686 builds via various AUR PKGBUILDS since firefox 60 IIRC.  In other words, you didn't break it, so you don't need to fix it.

My installed firefox 62 doesn't depend on libicu, so I guess it includes the binary libs in its own package.  I apparently need to update that to 63.x for a couple of weeks though, and I've not got round to that yet, although judging by the release notes I don't need to hurry, assuming they haven't secretly fixed a security bug I'm not aware of in it.

Last edited by levi (2018-11-11 17:53:58)

Offline

#3 2018-11-11 18:17:50

rascholer
Member
Registered: 2018-08-23
Posts: 5

Re: icu broken

libreoffice-fresh's icu dependency is fixed, but needs another rebuild against packages in [extra]: https://bugs.archlinux32.org/index.php? … &sort=desc

Offline

#4 2018-11-11 22:04:37

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 159

Re: icu broken

More likely if that's the case, it needs stuff pushed from testing rather than anything being rebuilt.  But otherwise, agreed.

Offline

#5 2018-11-12 10:37:48

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 315

Re: icu broken

liborcus and libixion have now been moved to extra, too (the old versions were broken anyway)

Offline

#6 2018-11-13 13:40:33

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 315

Re: icu broken

regarding the remaining packages:
thunderbird and firefox fail with out-of-memory repeatedly, no matter what we try (even building with makepkg outside of the usual build environment on a machine with lots of swap does not help)
gitlab and mysql-workbench have been failing to build since quite some time before this icu issue

So I don't expect them to be rebuilt anytime soon - if you really need them, use Andreas Baumann's icu62 stub package

However, should you discover a way to make the builds of any of those packages succeed, we're keen to know and implement it.

Regards,
deep42thought

Offline

#7 2018-11-13 19:11:43

Texbrew
Member
From: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Registered: 2017-11-14
Posts: 9

Re: icu broken

deep42thought wrote:

regarding the remaining packages:
...So I don't expect them to be rebuilt anytime soon - if you really need them, use Andreas Baumann's icu62 stub package
deep42thought

A few days ago I upgraded a machine which was severely out of date, without knowing about the icu63/firefox62 issue. No one's fault but my own, and I'm not complaining. I just need a little guidance on using the icu62 stub package before I attempt it. Should I leave icu63 in place and un-tar the stub package in a new icu62 directory? No hurry, and any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

Offline

#8 2018-11-13 19:35:31

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 159

Re: icu broken

No, I wouldn't start untarring packages; if you use the icu62 package, it should be installable alongside the icu package which happens to be at version 63.1 right now.

But I'm not using that personally.  I don't use thunderbird, but I am using Andreas' firefox-bin package from <a href="https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/firefox-bin/">the AUR</a>.  That used to be the only way to run firefox that was any newer than v60 or thereabouts, but now that I check the repos there's a firefox 62.0 there, which presumably won't work with the newer icu.  Andreas' version from the AUR doesn't depend on icu so presumably contains its own version

Now I'm a little confused, and it may be worth noting that both Andreas's AUR version and the repo version in extra are still stuck on 62.0 and haven't been updated in the past few weeks.

Er, so yeah, just download the icu62 stub and install it using 'sudo pacman -U', and ignore what I was saying about firefox-bin.

Offline

#9 2018-11-13 20:53:23

Texbrew
Member
From: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Registered: 2017-11-14
Posts: 9

Re: icu broken

levi wrote:

Er, so yeah, just download the icu62 stub and install it using 'sudo pacman -U', and ignore what I was saying about firefox-bin.

Thank you for your reply, levi. After downloading icu62, do I need to copy it to the pacman/cache/pkg directory and then perform the downgrade? I have had to downgrade packages before, but never with the added twist of downloading a tarball. I may not have the cache directory exactly right as i'm using a different OS on the machine I'm using to post this.

Note: Firefox is broken on the affected machine due to the icu63/firefox62 conflict. I have the download and will transfer it via USB thumbdrive.

Offline

#10 2018-11-13 22:20:29

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 159

Re: icu broken

No need to install it anywhere; mine generally live in my builds directory (although that's because I usually build them from AUR, but it seems a reasonable location for them).  It doesn't seem to get copied to /var/cache or anywhere like that, because pacman doesn't really care about packages once it's intalled them, so it leaves those you give it not from the repos up to you to take care of.

If you can get the url onto the problem machine, you should still be able to download it using curl e.g 'curl -LO http://archlinux32.andreasbaumann.cc/aur/i686/icu62-62.1-1.1-i686.pkg.tar.xz'

Offline

#11 2018-11-13 23:09:38

Texbrew
Member
From: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Registered: 2017-11-14
Posts: 9

Re: icu broken

@levi, Thank you again. I will copy/paste this thread into a text file and give it ago. Cheers!

Offline

#12 2018-11-14 00:21:27

levi
Moderator
From: UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 159

Re: icu broken

You can also use a text mode browser like lynx or links when your main browser is broken.  They're a bit clunky, but just about usable especially for simple sites like this one.  I don't think I've brought up an archlinux machine yet without installing one of them at some point so I can at least bring up the installation instructions from the wiki on the target machine.

Offline

#13 2018-11-14 01:55:38

Texbrew
Member
From: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Registered: 2017-11-14
Posts: 9

Re: icu broken

levi wrote:

You can also use a text mode browser like lynx or links when your main browser is broken...

Thank you @levi. I have had very limited use of lynx and links and will keep them in mind. Like most people, I'm spoiled by full featured browsers. I really appreciate your feedback on this issue.

Offline

#14 2018-11-15 04:53:51

Texbrew
Member
From: Deep in the Heart of Texas
Registered: 2017-11-14
Posts: 9

Re: icu broken

levi wrote:

If you can get the url onto the problem machine, you should still be able to download it using curl e.g 'curl -LO http://archlinux32.andreasbaumann.cc/aur/i686/icu62-62.1-1.1-i686.pkg.tar.xz'

@levi, I'm back to report success in getting firefox back to working by following your CLI command, and by following the archlinux wiki for "Offline installation of packages". https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Of … f_packages I have provided the link because finding it wasn't very straight forward. My success was keyed on this passage:

A simple example

This is a simple way to install a package you have downloaded:

# pacman -U /root/Download/packagename.tar.gz

I modified the command to fit the directory on my machine, plus the filename (*tar.xz)

I think I need to blacklist icu62 in pacman.conf at least until firefox 63 is placed in the repos, AND I need to be much more careful to read the News page before doing future upgrades.

I have another archlinux32 system on a separate drive on this same machine, but I'm confident I can get it upgraded, thanks to your help.

By the way, I'm posting this reply from the newly fixed machine. THANK YOU!

Should I open a thread describing this situation and mark it [Solved]?

Last edited by Texbrew (2018-11-15 22:50:00)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB