You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-11 05:26:33

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 728

dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

Since updating yesterday, I was not able to connect to the network.  I eventually worked it down to it working fine if I use a static IP but breaking if I try to use dhcp.

I'm not sure of the best way to debug this any further.  I did notice that at present testing offers a version 9.3.2-1.0 while core has an older 9.2.0-1.0, and that dhcpcd doesn't have many dependencies making it unlikely one of those broke it (unless it's systemd-libs, in which case the odds are pretty much even).

For anyone else who's using the testing repos and hasn't updated yet, be aware that if you drop off the network you might need to reconfigure yourself a static ip.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#2 2020-11-11 11:46:17

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 213
Website

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

I also noticed some "Illegal Opcodes with dhcpcd, you can set dhclient instead in your netctl profile.

Offline

#3 2020-11-11 18:29:38

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 728

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

Hmm, I'm still able to sudo dhcpcd and subsequently have difficulty killing it.  I'm running this on my Atom netbook which runs opcodes up to SSSE3, so I think it's a superset of pentium4.  But running it like that doesn't seem to exercise the actual connecting to my router bits and getting an ipv4 IP address codeblocks, so I'm not sure what it's doing, so it could be the bad opcodes are in that section.  I don't actually know how to drive it, perhaps I should bone up on its manpage.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#4 2020-11-11 20:34:29

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 505

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

Same here, same on archlinux arm (archlinux for x86_64 works on the same network). Switch to dhclient. That one works for me.

Offline

#5 2020-11-11 20:46:40

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 505

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

I wrote an announcement about this issue, because this can potentially lock you out of your remote-only machines.

Offline

#6 2020-11-11 20:59:39

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 728

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

Okay, yes, dhclient works for me now too.  I'm not sure how I ever ended up using dhcpcd, whether it came from the original base package set install, or whether I picked it at random from the list of optional dependencies of netctl when I first put this machine on the network.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#7 2020-11-12 14:09:11

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 505

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

might this be our issue, too?

Offline

#8 2020-11-12 18:19:20

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 728

Re: dhcpcd in testing possibly broken

It might be related but my stdout on running the command listed in msgboard's post on the 10th at 22:30:37 doesn't look like their log output.  I don't get a log, and i couldn't find anything from it in systemctl either, but my stdout resembled their reported log for the first few lines at least.  My output seems to discover an interface however, his does not.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB