You are not logged in.

#1 2020-12-24 07:05:34

mistersmee
Member
From: India
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 65

[SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

I've been stuck with half of my python programs on 3.9 and half on 3.8, like python-gobject and python-dbus on 3.8. This broke mpDris2 and some other programs as well. I saw that the packages show as dependencies that python>=3.8 as well as python<3.9, i.e they have not been rebuilt against 3.9. I just wanted to ask, can I help? I have not created a package before, so I do not know anything, I guess, and my reasons for asking are completely selfish, I want the python packages I use to not be broken. But I could help out, I guess. So where and how can I start?
Although my poor Thinkpad T60 might not be able to build them, idk.
Also as I do use firefox, maybe I might be able to help there as well? I do have the same worries about my hardware, though. Idk if it could handle building such a gigantic program as firefox.
What do you guys think?

Last edited by mistersmee (2020-12-26 10:06:16)

Offline

#2 2020-12-24 07:57:04

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Yes, some packages seem to have not made the jump to 3.9.  My /usr/lib/python-3.8/site-packages/ contains:

avahi                                   lilv.py
btrfsutil-5.9-py3.8.egg-info            lirc
btrfsutil.cpython-38-i386-linux-gnu.so  lirc-setup
ftdi1.py                                PyGObject-3.38.0.egg-info
_ftdi1.so                               pygtkcompat
gi                                      talloc.cpython-38-i386-linux-gnu.so
iotop                                   tdb.cpython-38-i386-linux-gnu.so
iotop-0.6-py3.8.egg-info                _tdb_text.py
jedi                                    _tevent.cpython-38-i386-linux-gnu.so
jedi-0.17.2-py3.8.egg-info              tevent.py
ldb.cpython-38-i386-linux-gnu.so        unohelper.py
_ldb_text.py                            uno.py
lensfun                                 xcbgen
lensfun-0.3.95-py3.8.egg-info           zbar.so

Some of those might be my own AUR-based packages, but nothing jumps out as being such.
I wonder if that's what causing glitchy screen rendering in weechat, as I know that's a fairly heavy python user


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#3 2020-12-25 14:39:24

mistersmee
Member
From: India
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Exactly.
And I reverted to python-3.8.6 using the package on archive.archlinux.org, but that leads to even more breakage. Most of the packages have been migrated to 3.9, and so even though I am on python-3.8, the broken packages remain broken, as they depend on some of the now 3.9 packages.
It's a complete mess, but better being an up-to-date mess than staying on 3.8, I guess.
As a stop-gap, I copied 3 folders from /usr/lib/python-3.8/site-packages/ to /usr/lib/python-3.9/site-packages/, namely, xcbgen, picard and PyQt5, which ensures that the stuff I need: polybar, and stuff I use fairly regularly: picard are working.

Last edited by mistersmee (2020-12-25 14:44:01)

Offline

#4 2020-12-25 14:42:39

mistersmee
Member
From: India
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

mistersmee wrote:

Exactly.
And I reverted to python-3.8.6 using the package on archive.archlinux.org, but that leads to even more breakage. Most of the packages have been migrated to 3.9, and so even though I am on python-3.8, the broken packages remain broken, as they depend on some of the now 3.9 packages.
It's a complete mess, but better being an up-to-date mess than staying on 3.8, I guess.
As a stop-gap, I copied 3 folders from /usr/lib/python-3.8/site-packages/ to /usr/lib/python-3.9/site-packages/, namely, xcbgen, picard and PyQt5, which ensures that the stuff I need, polybar and stuff I use fairly regularly, picard are working.

I'm sure this will not be great for my system if I do this for every package, so only these 3. When the update eventually comes, pacman will definitely error out, with file conflicts, so if I forget, no problem. Still, I have kept a list of the folders I copied, so it becomes easier for me to delete them later on.

Last edited by mistersmee (2020-12-25 14:43:03)

Offline

#5 2020-12-26 10:04:31

mistersmee
Member
From: India
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

So, I spent all afternoon grabbing the PKGBUILDs from upstream Arch, and successfully building the required python modules.
I have .pkg.zst's of:

beets-1.4.9-5-any.pkg.tar.zst
blueman-2.1.4-1-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
cython-0.29.21-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
cython2-0.29.21-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
gobject-introspection-1.66.1-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
gobject-introspection-runtime-1.66.1-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python2-dbus-1.2.16-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python2-yaml-5.3.1-4-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python-dbus-1.2.16-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python-dbus-common-1.2.16-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python-gobject-3.38.0-3-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
python-yaml-5.3.1-4-pentium4.pkg.tar.zst
xcb-proto-1.14.1-3-any.pkg.tar.zst

And all the programs that were erorring out are now fine.  So, solved, I guess?
Let's see what happens once the actual updates come through.
I'm going to have a crack at doing the same for firefox tomorrow. Preferably on a device having more space than this one, or on an external HDD, as right now, it errors out as

 no space left on device 

Last edited by mistersmee (2020-12-26 10:04:55)

Offline

#6 2020-12-26 18:36:40

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Nice. I guess what the upgrade will do depends on the version numbers.  Your internal version numbers are mainly 3 which seems quite high to me, so they're probably remain on your system even after the arch32 versions are published, and only actually get switched out once the public version changes.

Why did you use the arch64 PKGBUILDS by the way?  Luckily they target 'any' so you didn't need to modify them to build on arch32.  Presumably we have our own PKGBUILDS although at the time of writing I've not been able to find them.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#7 2020-12-27 10:04:12

mistersmee
Member
From: India
Registered: 2020-12-24
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

levi wrote:

Nice. I guess what the upgrade will do depends on the version numbers.  Your internal version numbers are mainly 3 which seems quite high to me, so they're probably remain on your system even after the arch32 versions are published, and only actually get switched out once the public version changes.

Why did you use the arch64 PKGBUILDS by the way?  Luckily they target 'any' so you didn't need to modify them to build on arch32.  Presumably we have our own PKGBUILDS although at the time of writing I've not been able to find them.

I used the arch64 PKGBUILDs because those were the only ones available, I guess. The information for these packages, on archlinux32.org/packages/ linked only to the upstream PKGBUILD, I didn't see arch32 PKGBUILD link for any of these packages. I assume that we use the very same PKGBUILDS as arch64, just replace the arch form x86_64 to pentium4 or i686 or i486, in case of these packages, anyway. Yeah, luckily these packages, or their sources, are architecture-agnostic.

I doubt the version numbers will give a problem for these packages, the pkgrel numbers are the same as upstream, and I think two of the packages I built are now in arch32 build list, or testing or staging, and they have the same version numbers. Anyway, no harm will be done to my system either way.

Last edited by mistersmee (2020-12-27 10:06:25)

Offline

#8 2020-12-27 19:27:47

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Yes, after writing that I think I found the same.  We do have a server at git.archlinux32.org, but that only has a handful of repositories of things that have probably had significant alterations to run under arch32 or for arch32.  There's not all of the other PKGBUILDS which must've at least had their archs fiddled with.  Maybe a lot of them can be done with a preprocessing script, but I don't know about that, and given all of the packages that make up these OSen I'd be amazed if there's not a significant number that need more handheld fettling.

Edit: Yes, but in terms of these python packages they're all pure python, and arch=any so that's fine for this specific problem.

Last edited by levi (2020-12-27 22:39:14)


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#9 2020-12-27 21:43:04

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 617

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

yes, this is all, we do: add i486,i686,pentium4 to arch=() and append our PKGBUILD (if we have one) as found on git.archlinux32.org

Offline

#10 2020-12-27 22:38:20

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Okay, I'm slightly surprised we don't have a repo for firefox or perhaps rust, but perhaps until recently it just didn't need one.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#11 2020-12-28 07:29:27

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 617

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Where exactly are you looking? firefox and rust are in the repo.

Offline

#12 2020-12-28 08:43:55

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

I was looking at the apparent list of repos on the root page: https://git.archlinux32.org/

Edit: Ah, doh! It's all there under the packages repo!

Last edited by levi (2020-12-28 08:45:45)


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#13 2020-12-28 08:45:36

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 617

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

ah, ok. As you (now) know, we have one repo for all PKGBUILD modifications - the other repositories on https://git.archlinux32.org/ are for different other things, like our iso, keyring, devtools, some helper scripts, the build master scripts, etc.

Offline

#14 2020-12-28 19:01:23

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: [SOLVED] Python 3.9 rebuild

Ah, and on top of that if you look for such packages on the package server (linked in the heading), they have an extra option in the top right box to link to that git repo.  It's just that the particular python packages the OP needed to rebuild aren't build using any special arch32 source.

Good stuff!


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB