You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-07 17:04:12

da
Member
Registered: 2021-05-07
Posts: 3

[solved] pacman downloading binaries from a wrong architecture

hello everyone,

I've recently installed archlinux32 on my 32 bit computer, which has core 2 duo CPU, however when I'm using pacman to install whatever packages, the names have a `pentium4` suffix, i.e `Mono-6.12.0.107-1.0-pentium4`, I believe the suffix should be `i686`

duo to this problem I've been unable to install build some packages such as the AUR `polybar` using `makepkg`, which give me the error

> ==> ERROR: polybar is not available for the 'pentium4' architecture.

here's `cat /proc/cpuinfo` for one of my cores


    processor    : 0
    vendor_id    : GenuineIntel
    cpu family    : 6
    model        : 15
    model name    : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T5870  @ 2.00GHz
    stepping    : 13
    microcode    : 0xa1
    cpu MHz        : 848.259
    cache size    : 2048 KB
    physical id    : 0
    siblings    : 2
    core id        : 0
    cpu cores    : 2
    apicid        : 0
    initial apicid    : 0
    fdiv_bug    : no
    f00f_bug    : no
    coma_bug    : no
    fpu        : yes
    fpu_exception    : yes
    cpuid level    : 10
    wp        : yes
    flags        : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush    dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts cpuid aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm ida
    bugs        : cpu_meltdown spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass l1tf mds swapgs itlb_multihit
    bogomips    : 3991.54
    clflush size    : 64
    cache_alignment    : 64
    address sizes    : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:


and `uname -p` output
```
unknown
```
lemme know if you need some additional info, also I

thanks in advance

Last edited by da (2021-05-07 18:16:13)

Offline

#2 2021-05-07 17:22:17

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 416
Website

Re: [solved] pacman downloading binaries from a wrong architecture

Hi, the architecture in the packages (and in /etc/pacman.conf, Architecture=pentium4) is an invention of Archlinux32,
A description of those architecture you can find here https://archlinux32.org/architecture/.

You have sse2 in the processor flags, so this is pentium4 by our definition.

In the AUR you have to add 'pentium4' to the PKBUILD of polybar:

arch=("pentium4" "i686" "x86_64")

This is described here https://bbs.archlinux32.org/viewtopic.php?id=2841

Offline

#3 2021-05-07 17:52:27

da
Member
Registered: 2021-05-07
Posts: 3

Re: [solved] pacman downloading binaries from a wrong architecture

got it, thank you

are there some certain settings I can set so I don't have to add the the architecture to the PKGBUILD file every time I want to install a package from the AUR ?

Offline

#4 2021-05-07 18:09:00

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 416
Website

Re: [solved] pacman downloading binaries from a wrong architecture

No, not that I am aware of.

Offline

#5 2021-05-07 19:05:57

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,009

Re: [solved] pacman downloading binaries from a wrong architecture

In my experience before you can successfully git pull a new update to your AUR projects, you probably need to git checkout PKGBUILD if you've edited that file to add the architecture, then git pull, then re-add the architecture.  There's probably some way you could create a closely linked branch just containing the architecture patch local to your machine since you're never going to push the project back upstream, but I think you'll always need to git merge the new changes in, so I'm not sure that there's much benefit in seeing all of that noise against checkouting, pulling and the re-editing.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB