You are not logged in.

#1 2021-06-12 18:51:38

kamehameha
Member
Registered: 2021-06-12
Posts: 4

[Solved] - Qtile won't start up

I've written about my problem here: https://www.reddit.com/r/linux4noobs/co … _linux_32/

Essentially, Qtile won't start up. I'd log in with my display manager (lightdm), the screen goes black, then I'm back at the display manager. Xfce4 works fine. Awesome works fine. But Qtile... no.

This is what I get when, as written in the Arch Wiki, I type...
echo "exec qtile" > /tmp/.start_qtile ; xinit /tmp/.start_qtile -- :2
...to debug Qtile: https://pastebin.com/DBBNMwTX

Last edited by levi (2021-06-14 05:55:14)

Offline

#2 2021-06-12 19:41:51

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

As that log says, check ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.2.log in case there's anything more in there.  I doubt it because from the log you posted, it falls over after not being able to access /dev/tty0.  It's surprising the xfce and awesome work well using the same X interface.  Maybe it's misconfigured to use the wrong tty therefore.  If I do ls -l /dev/tty* I find that the tty owned by me is tty1.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#3 2021-06-12 19:48:19

kamehameha
Member
Registered: 2021-06-12
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

This is what I got from ~/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.2.log: https://pastebin.com/mXj5UyvX

Not sure what can be found from here....

Offline

#4 2021-06-12 19:58:24

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

Yes, that log file shows the system is starting up relatively normally until it discovered it's using the wrong tty.  Do an 'ls -l /dev/tty*' to see which ttys you own.  On my system tty0 is owned by root and only local user and group can write to it, so I shouldn't have access to it unless I sudo it.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#5 2021-06-12 20:53:15

kamehameha
Member
Registered: 2021-06-12
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

It says tty 5

Offline

#6 2021-06-12 23:00:41

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

Okay, so if your tty is tty5 it doesn't explain why X is trying to talk to tty0 when it starts up to load qtile. I don't know qtile, but perhaps it's configurable there.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#7 2021-06-13 07:37:56

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

parse_vt_settings: Cannot open /dev/tty0 (Permission denied)

I don't think this is the reason, why it doesn't start up, but you
can add your login user to the tty group maybe
(gpasswd -a user tty).

Starting qtile by hand I get:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/qtile", line 33, in <module>
    sys.exit(load_entry_point('qtile==0.16.1', 'console_scripts', 'qtile')())
  File "/usr/bin/qtile", line 22, in importlib_load_entry_point
    for entry_point in distribution(dist_name).entry_points
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/importlib/metadata.py", line 524, in distribution
    return Distribution.from_name(distribution_name)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/importlib/metadata.py", line 187, in from_name
    raise PackageNotFoundError(name)
importlib.metadata.PackageNotFoundError: qtile

So, there is some Python module missing. Let me rebuild qtile and see if
the problem disappears then..

Offline

#8 2021-06-13 09:22:37

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

So, should work now.

Offline

#9 2021-06-14 00:19:31

kamehameha
Member
Registered: 2021-06-12
Posts: 4

Re: [Solved] - Qtile won't start up

It works. Thanks so much guys!!
I did "gpasswd -a user tty", "sudo pacman -Rns qtile" then "sudo pacman -S qtile".

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB