You are not logged in.

#1 2021-11-04 11:16:30

peebee
Member
Registered: 2019-05-12
Posts: 15

Chromium stuck on old version?

chromium has been stuck at version 90.0.4430.212-1.0 since 2021-05-15 10:56:31

latest version of chromium is now (@ 4-nov-2021) 95.0.4638.69 ..........

there are seccomp issues with 32-bit chromium builds however it will "work" (maybe "insecurely") with appropriate switches.

are there any plans to produce more up-to-date chromium packages?

Thanks
peebee

Offline

#2 2021-11-04 15:56:22

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,008

Re: Chromium stuck on old version?

Firefox is also stuck on version 71.  Given I block javascript as much as possible, as well as third party images I don't recognise, I'm not sure I really need the latest and greatest, but YMMV.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#3 2021-11-06 10:17:29

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Chromium stuck on old version?

Aeh. firefox is on version 92.0.1 on pentium4 and 92.0 on i686, not the newest, but recent enough. :-)

Never firefoxes are currently stuck at:
https://bugs.archlinux32.org/index.php? … ask_id=215

Offline

#4 2021-11-06 16:04:36

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,008

Re: Chromium stuck on old version?

Is something stopping you setting `#![feature(adt_const_params)]`, or it is not that simple?


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#5 2021-11-06 20:57:31

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 410
Website

Re: Chromium stuck on old version?

The fact it tries to use simd makes me ponder, most likely something else is wrong before..

Offline

#6 2021-11-06 23:09:13

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,008

Re: Chromium stuck on old version?

You might be right, but these days every man and his dog seems to be hardcoding in simd instructions to try and speed up biggish data jobs.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB