You are not logged in.

#1 2022-10-14 11:31:47

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 60

Old Compaq Laptop..... booting issues [Solved]

Have someone trying to install Archlinux32 on this laptop and is having issues getting it to boot basically they either get dropped to reduced shell or kernel panic. At the moment they are trying to loop mount iso via grub. Device does not have a working usb port...  I can loop mount iso image this very easily on a VM [ with lots of ram and cpu power ]. Am wondering if 256mb is not enough ram. Starting to wonder if a poor mans install would be a better way to go. Or try to boot strap from existing OS [Ubuntu ewwww!]

Specs:

Compaq Evo N600c
CPU: Intel Pentium III-M (1066MHz)
Cache size: 32/512 KB
Memory size: 256 MB

Last edited by Mr Green (2022-10-15 11:17:02)

Offline

#2 2022-10-14 15:33:19

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 991
Website

Re: Old Compaq Laptop..... booting issues [Solved]

Uh, 256MB RAM is most likely not enough to load the initial ramdisk. That's what the i486 ISO is for. :-)

Offline

#3 2022-10-15 11:16:47

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 60

Re: Old Compaq Laptop..... booting issues [Solved]

Thank you so for your help ;-)... I know I should not ask here... am guessing that by them trying to short cut a correct arch install they forgot to notice that the iso they are using is i686

Will mark as solved

Offline

#4 2022-10-15 23:53:35

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: Old Compaq Laptop..... booting issues [Solved]

I recall installing archlniux back when they used to support 32-bit x86 as well as x64 processors on the same boot disc.  That mqchine had a coppermine pentium-III in it, and I can't remember how much RAM it has in it at install time, but after that I found out the motherboard would support 512MB of RAM, so ordered a stick and installed it.  I remember it having two different stuck in it, so it was likely 192MB or 384MB. I'm not sure when cpioed ramdisks came along in installers, but I reckon I might have set up that machine in 2017 or something like that.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB