You are not logged in.

#26 2022-11-03 12:02:52

Mr Green
Member
Registered: 2017-11-11
Posts: 60

Re: Does i486 version use loop mounting?

I did notice one thing. In /usr/share/archiso/configs/releng the files there refer to x86_64 and i686. Archiso version is 62 vs current x86_64 which is at 68.

Archiso dropped haveged as there was enough entropy in some magic kernel setting, can see that on a lower cpu it would take forever to update/install keys. On a live level is package signing even worth it? Locally packages are already installed (as such) and adding to live environment has no effect on system [[generally unless in error or on purpose]]

For ArchBang I made it so that a user must update pacman keys post install. On a real system is much faster and more up to date, given a working network connection. Without which Arch is not much use ;-)

Used Virtualbox for years and it does what I need. Qemu is much better than it used to be, just not used to it. Am tempted to setup an old machine with proxmox.

Building and testing isos takes time, I will keep trying i486 iso image [might do one with releng to reduce build time].

Might come and work for Archlinux32, much more relaxed and friendlier forums ;-)

Offline

#27 2022-11-03 15:58:43

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 969
Website

Re: Does i486 version use loop mounting?

Yeah, we have the luxury of having a small user base, so niceness is reciprocally proportional to the number of users, I suppose. ;-)
archiso is old, mmh. I could have sworn I updated archiso32 from archiso git..

Offline

#28 2022-11-05 19:42:20

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: Does i486 version use loop mounting?

FWIW, I updated pambase to 20221020 today and it hasn't stopped my eeePC booting up.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB