You are not logged in.

#1 2022-11-08 20:01:19

benpicco
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-11-08
Posts: 16

i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Hi,
I'm trying to install Arch on this machine (433 MHz Celeron). I chose the i486 image (2022.11.02) since I only have 160 MiB RAM.
However, when I boot the CD (no USB boot unfortunately and Plop just gets stuck when scanning the bus) I get this after loading the kernel:

Archlinux32 2022.11 i486 fails to boot from CD

No keyboard input is possible at this point. I also don't get to change boot options before as the image has auto-boot enabled.
The CD boots fine on a different (less vintage) machine,

Offline

#2 2022-11-08 23:14:30

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

I don't know that computer.  What sort of buses does it have?  It'll be around '98 vintage, so it should predate pci-e, and might even have an old iSA bus in it.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#3 2022-11-09 08:28:19

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 1,001
Website

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

"value too large" sounds familiar to me. There is a 32-bit issue in the underlying filesystem, I presume.
I never tried the i486 ISO lately in a real machine, only in a 486 qemu virtual machine, so I think the logical
next step is for me to try to reproduce this bug.

There is always the option to install the final hard disk with a pacstrap (architecture i486, mirrorlist32) from
another machine, even a 64-bit one. :-)

Offline

#4 2022-11-09 20:45:52

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Ah, I didn't see the imgur link until I quoted the OP,. My fault, I block most images to prevent 1px square trackers, but umatrix doesn't even leave an anchor to indicate it's not loaded anything. Fixed that now, by setting i.imgur images safe to load from here at least..

Is the ACPI non-recoverable error ignorable?  I'd have thought you can't do much with a machine without access to ACPI.

Last edited by levi (2022-11-09 20:48:01)


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#5 2022-11-09 22:52:22

benpicco
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-11-08
Posts: 16

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

It was something on the HDD it didn't like. There was an old Debian Sarge install, I replaced it with an old version of Ubuntu (mostly because Sarge wouldn't auto-configure USB network interfaces…) and now the Arch init is more happy.
It boots to the shell, but then gets stuck. No keyboard input is possible.

boot to shell

amdgpu seems a bit ambitious for an ATI 3D Rage LT Pro big_smile

levi wrote:

What sort of buses does it have?

0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX Host bridge (rev 03)
0000:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 440BX/ZX/DX - 82443BX/ZX/DX AGP bridge (rev 03)
0000:00:07.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ISA (rev 02)
0000:00:07.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 IDE (rev 01)
0000:00:07.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 USB (rev 01)
0000:00:07.3 Bridge: Intel Corporation 82371AB/EB/MB PIIX4 ACPI (rev 02)
0000:00:08.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1225 (rev 01)
0000:00:08.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1225 (rev 01)
0000:00:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: Cirrus Logic CS 4614/22/24 [CrystalClear SoundFusion Audio Accelerator] (rev 01)
0000:01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc 3D Rage LT Pro AGP-133 (rev dc)
0000:02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
0000:02:00.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
0000:02:00.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 02)

No ISA cards btw

[   40.393892] isapnp: Scanning for PnP cards...
[   40.748437] isapnp: No Plug & Play device found
[   40.369256] EISA bus registered
[   40.891711] EISA: Probing bus 0 at eisa.0
[   40.891741] Cannot allocate resource for EISA slot 1
[   40.891754] Cannot allocate resource for EISA slot 2
[   40.891804] EISA: Detected 0 cards.
BIOS Information
	Vendor: SystemSoft
	Version: Version R1.13 
	Release Date: 10/26/1999
	Address: 0xEC000
	Runtime Size: 80 kB
	ROM Size: 256 kB
	Characteristics:
		ISA is supported
		PCI is supported
		PC Card (PCMCIA) is supported
		PNP is supported
		APM is supported
		BIOS is upgradeable
		BIOS shadowing is allowed
		Boot from CD is supported
		Selectable boot is supported
		EDD is supported
		3.5"/720 KB floppy services are supported (int 13h)
		Print screen service is supported (int 5h)
		8042 keyboard services are supported (int 9h)
		Serial services are supported (int 14h)
		Printer services are supported (int 17h)
		CGA/mono video services are supported (int 10h)
		ACPI is supported
		USB legacy is supported
		AGP is supported
		ATAPI Zip drive boot is supported
		Smart battery is supported

Handle 0x0001, DMI type 1, 25 bytes.
System Information
	Manufacturer: MiTAC
	Product Name: 6133
	Version: 00
	Serial Number: 6133XN      
	UUID: Not Present
	Wake-up Type: Modem Ring

The ACPI error doesn't appear to be critical, Ubuntu already has it and it looks like that check was added to Linux 2.4, so nothing recent.

Offline

#6 2022-11-09 23:18:36

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

That looks a lot better to me. I can't see an error there; those audit messages are fairly normal for users of older hardware, and they all seen to have res=success at the end anyway. I wonder if it's just failing to scroll the screen.  There are ways to indicate a system's still alive when you can't see the screen; there are way to turn off and on caps lock lights and to make a system beep but you'll have to do an internet search for instructions because I don't recall the right runes to type in at the moment.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#7 2022-11-10 01:02:15

benpicco
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-11-08
Posts: 16

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Uh turns out it's the keyboard on the device that doesn't work on Arch!
I connected a keyboard via USB and that is working just fine.

Last edited by benpicco (2022-11-10 01:02:50)

Offline

#8 2022-11-10 07:48:41

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 1,001
Website

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Glad to hear you could sort out all issues (for now). :-)

BTW, just because you have not much memory and have to boot from the i486 ISO (this is due the way the
standard i686 ISO is made with big ramdisk and such), doesn't mean you cannot install the i686 or even
the pentium4 version from that i486 ISO (by creating a copy of pacman.conf and setting the Architecture,
the providing that local config file to pacstrap).

Didn't find much about the your Celeron CPU, but if /proc/cpuinfo shows anything remotely like MMX or SSE I
can only recommend to use the i686 version of Arch32 (i486 has a lot of failing packages lately).

Just tried the i486 ISO on a Pentium III without SSE2 (sort of my last working CDROM drive currently).
It has some long time when showing the login prompt (I don't know how much it is doing as systemd
background processes or as login), but that takes too long for my taste.

And: thanks for the pictures, I always like those.. :-)

Offline

#9 2022-11-10 10:08:49

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,197

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

According to wikipedia it has MMX but not any kind of SSE, thus limiting it to using the 486 packages.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#10 2022-11-10 10:44:04

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 1,001
Website

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Okay then, another real test case for i486.
I just tried the i486 floppies on the Thinkpad 240x (had to recover from a broken update). this works actually nicely, but
you have to build the kernel and the ramdisk by hand now and use the build.sh script to build the floppies. It's nothing
which I would call production ready. :-)
First step would be to improve the README and make the build.sh script usable by somebody else, especially the
building of the ramdisk should not be manual.

Offline

#11 2022-11-12 17:45:01

benpicco
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-11-08
Posts: 16

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Yes indeed, no SSE:

processor	: 0
vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
cpu family	: 6
model		: 6
model name	: Celeron (Mendocino)
stepping	: 5
microcode	: 0x3
cpu MHz		: 464.581
cache size	: 128 KB
physical id	: 0
siblings	: 1
core id		: 0
cpu cores	: 1
apicid		: 0
initial apicid	: 0
fdiv_bug	: no
f00f_bug	: no
coma_bug	: no
fpu		: yes
fpu_exception	: yes
cpuid level	: 2
wp		: yes
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pse36 mmx fxsr cpuid
bugs		: cpu_meltdown spectre_v1 spectre_v2 spec_store_bypass l1tf mds swapgs itlb_multihit mmio_unknown
bogomips	: 929.87
clflush size	: 32
cache_alignment	: 32
address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:

I still get i686 packages with

Architecture = Automatic

so I've set it to i486 now.

Is ISA / 16-bit busses disabled? A 16-Bit PC-card (ne2000) isn't detected either - maybe that's related to the keyboard not working.

Sadly WiFi drivers seem to have regressed too. I have an ath5k card (AR5213A/RF5112B) where both iwd and wpa_supplicant hang completely with 100% CPU - even kill -9 doesn't get them terminated

 1231.463689] pcmcia_socket pcmcia_socket1: pccard: CardBus card inserted into slot 1
[ 1231.463906] pci 0000:06:00.0: [168c:0013] type 00 class 0x020000
[ 1231.463976] pci 0000:06:00.0: reg 0x10: [mem 0x00000000-0x0000ffff]
[ 1231.473933] pci 0000:06:00.0: BAR 0: assigned [mem 0x30000000-0x3000ffff]
[ 1232.269053] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[ 1232.269144] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.1 INT A to get INT A
[ 1232.269173] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: found PCI INT A -> IRQ 10
[ 1232.269229] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:08.0
[ 1232.269254] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:08.1
[ 1232.269281] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:01:00.0
[ 1232.269307] ohci-pci 0000:02:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT A to get INT A
[ 1232.269326] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:02:00.0
[ 1232.269353] ohci-pci 0000:02:00.1: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT B to get INT B
[ 1232.269371] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:02:00.1
[ 1232.269396] ehci-pci 0000:02:00.2: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT C to get INT C
[ 1232.269420] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.1 INT A to get INT A
[ 1232.270007] ath5k 0000:06:00.0: registered as 'phy1'
[ 1232.875115] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x40
[ 1232.875180] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
[ 1232.875199] ath: Country alpha2 being used: JP
[ 1232.875211] ath: Regpair used: 0x40
[ 1232.875559] ieee80211 phy1: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[ 1233.000634] ath5k: phy1: Atheros AR5213A chip found (MAC: 0x59, PHY: 0x43)
[ 1233.000716] ath5k: phy1: RF5112B multiband radio found (0x36)
[ 1233.460162] audit: type=1130 audit(1668263391.266:124): pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=systemd-rfkill comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
[ 1238.524895] audit: type=1131 audit(1668263396.333:125): pid=1 uid=0 auid=4294967295 ses=4294967295 msg='unit=systemd-rfkill comm="systemd" exe="/usr/lib/systemd/systemd" hostname=? addr=? terminal=? res=success'
[ 1474.477029] INFO: task kworker/u2:0:8 blocked for more than 122 seconds.
[ 1474.477094]       Not tainted 5.19.7-arch1-1.0 #1
[ 1474.477109] "echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs" disables this message.
[ 1474.477121] task:kworker/u2:0    state:D stack:    0 pid:    8 ppid:     2 flags:0x00004000
[ 1474.477165] Workqueue: events_power_efficient reg_check_chans_work [cfg80211]
[ 1474.479871] Call Trace:
[ 1474.479904]  __schedule+0x3bd/0x1190
[ 1474.479971]  ? sched_clock_local+0x25/0x170
[ 1474.480006]  schedule+0x58/0xf0
[ 1474.480030]  schedule_preempt_disabled+0x14/0x30
[ 1474.480057]  __mutex_lock.constprop.0+0x40c/0x6c0
[ 1474.480088]  ? __switch_to_asm+0x9b/0xf0
[ 1474.480116]  ? __switch_to_asm+0x95/0xf0
[ 1474.480138]  ? __switch_to_asm+0x71/0xf0
[ 1474.480162]  __mutex_lock_slowpath+0x12/0x20
[ 1474.492628]  mutex_lock+0x37/0x50
[ 1474.492732]  rtnl_lock+0x12/0x20
[ 1474.492766]  reg_check_chans_work+0x23/0x4f0 [cfg80211 bbf5e34a1a47840ef81bda9faabece93988fdddd]
[ 1474.504090]  ? __schedule+0x3c2/0x1190
[ 1474.504170]  ? queue_delayed_work_on+0x3d/0x40
[ 1474.504248]  process_one_work+0x192/0x330
[ 1474.504280]  worker_thread+0x13e/0x390
[ 1474.504311]  kthread+0xcc/0xf0
[ 1474.504359]  ? rescuer_thread+0x350/0x350
[ 1474.504386]  ? kthread_complete_and_exit+0x20/0x20
[ 1474.504414]  ret_from_fork+0x1c/0x28
[ 1474.504482] INFO: task kworker/u2:3:32 blocked for more than 122 seconds.
[ 1474.504504]       Not tainted 5.19.7-arch1-1.0 #1
[ 1474.504519] "echo 0 > /proc/sys/kernel/hung_task_timeout_secs" disables this message.
[ 1474.504530] task:kworker/u2:3    state:D stack:    0 pid:   32 ppid:     2 flags:0x00004000

A rt2500pci card doesn't hang, but fails to connect

[  137.824587] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: enabling device (0000 -> 0002)
[  137.824666] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.1 INT A to get INT A
[  137.824693] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: found PCI INT A -> IRQ 10
[  137.824748] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:08.0
[  137.824772] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:00:08.1
[  137.824798] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:01:00.0
[  137.824823] ohci-pci 0000:02:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT A to get INT A
[  137.824842] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:02:00.0
[  137.824866] ohci-pci 0000:02:00.1: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT B to get INT B
[  137.824885] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: sharing IRQ 10 with 0000:02:00.1
[  137.824909] ehci-pci 0000:02:00.2: using bridge 0000:00:08.0 INT C to get INT C
[  137.824932] rt2500pci 0000:06:00.0: using bridge 0000:00:08.1 INT A to get INT A
[  137.940958] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00_set_chip: Info - Chipset detected - rt: 2560, rf: 0003, rev: 0004
[  137.941216] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[  613.577909] wlan0: authenticate with ec:08:6b:68:52:fd
[  613.589291] wlan0: send auth to ec:08:6b:68:52:fd (try 1/3)
[  613.592688] wlan0: authenticated
[  613.595359] wlan0: associate with ec:08:6b:68:52:fd (try 1/3)
[  613.598524] wlan0: RX AssocResp from ec:08:6b:68:52:fd (capab=0x1431 status=0 aid=1)
[  613.598926] wlan0: associated
[  613.613028] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  614.603596] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  615.587234] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  616.577655] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  617.567844] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  618.558020] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00mac_tx: Error - Attempt to send packet over invalid queue 2
               Please file bug report to http://rt2x00.serialmonkey.com
[  618.611841] wlan0: deauthenticating from ec:08:6b:68:52:fd by local choice (Reason: 15=4WAY_HANDSHAKE_TIMEOUT)

A more modern USB-WiFi dongle works.

I think this thread can be marked as resolved though as booting now definitely works. big_smile

Offline

#12 2022-11-12 18:55:55

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 1,001
Website

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Actually ISA should be enabled: https://git.archlinux32.org/packages/tr … onfig.i486

You can change config.i486 when you check out linux with 'asp32 export core/linux'

(ASP32 is available at https://git.archlinux32.org/asp32/)

With old NExxxx cards I had some trouble on my Unisys machine (see forum section "artwork"),
they word if statically linked into the kernel and OOPS when loaded as module..

Offline

#13 2022-11-12 23:36:21

benpicco
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2022-11-08
Posts: 16

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

How do I use asp32?
I get

$ asp32 update linux
fatal: unable to update url base from redirection:
  asked for: https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/info/refs?service=git-upload-pack
   redirect: https://gitlab.archlinux.org/explore/groups
error: failed to update remote packages64

Btw: looks like the rt2500pci issue has been fixed upstream - the patch should appear in 5.19.14

And the keyboard works when I manually

modprobe i8042

Last edited by benpicco (2022-11-13 00:36:33)

Offline

#14 2022-11-13 08:15:51

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 1,001
Website

Re: i486 image fails to boot on LiteLine 6133

Asp32: Have a look if you have old .cache/asp32 directory around, if so, delete them

asp32 update
asp32 export core/linux

Maybe also something changed upstream (I particularly don't like this redirect)..

So you can add 'MODULE=(i8042)' to your '/etc/mkinitcpio.conf' and rebuild your ramdisk
containing the keyboard driver.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB