You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-20 09:44:10

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

community/virtualbox

virtual memory exhausted: Operation not permitted

I think, some parameters have to be raised on the build slaves..

Offline

#2 2017-10-20 09:49:49

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

afaik, the memory limit is 12GB
does it build on your box?

Offline

#3 2017-10-20 09:51:19

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Oups. That should really be enough. I have 8 GB. I'm currently trying to build it..

Offline

#4 2017-10-20 10:48:44

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Mmh. Weird. Builds without any problems on my machine. Maybe the number of parallel build jobs is too high. I'm just building with -j1.

Offline

#5 2017-10-20 10:59:29

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

ok, I'll retry on a different box: Because I don't know which `-j` is the right one, I'll just increase to 64GB ram.

Offline

#6 2017-10-20 11:18:27

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

hmm, this isn't enough - and putting "MAKEFLAGS=-j1" into /etc/makepkg.conf doesn't limit the number of parallel builds (although -j1 enters the makepkg.conf in the build container)

Offline

#7 2017-10-20 15:11:55

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

kmk is a modified GNU make, maybe it works a little bit differently.
I have to say: the machine I'm building on has only one core, this might have helped. :-)

Offline

#8 2017-10-21 09:40:26

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Ah, stupid me. 32-bit processes can at most use 4 GB virtual address space. So raising memory doesn't help at all (above 4 GB).
I have to dig deeper why it works on my machine.

Offline

#9 2017-10-21 10:24:43

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Do you have a real /tmp or a tmpfs in RAM?

Offline

#10 2017-10-22 11:58:18

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

I have a tmpfs in ram, but the package is being built in a tmpdir on the disk, because I expected large packages (e.g. thunderbird, firefox) to exceed the size of the ramdisk.

Offline

#11 2017-10-22 12:00:32

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

the strange part is, that the build uses as many processors as it finds and ignores any '-j' setting in MAKEFLAGS.

Offline

#12 2017-10-23 09:11:50

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

Can you try to build the package via

bin/build-packages -l virtualbox.63be256f86b1dadf6eaffdaf9ba83605aee377c4.b10417a41e2f1ce9e49e675f9e450b2eb73f551c.community

and see if it still works?
If so, I would give you build-slave access to the build master and you could simply upload that package to the database.

Offline

#13 2017-10-23 17:01:20

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Yep. I could build the packages and install them. Not tested yet.

Offline

#14 2017-10-23 17:09:14

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

The build script deleted my tmp.* directories after building.. I'll redo the packages.. :-)

Last edited by andreas_baumann (2017-10-23 17:24:54)

Offline

#15 2017-10-23 19:16:18

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Tested with host DKMS modules, installed an Archlinux 32-bit on an Archlinux 32-bit. Seems to work.

Offline

#16 2017-10-24 11:16:41

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

When you give me your public ssh key, I can give you slave-access to the build master. Then you can run

bin/build-packages -p virtualbox

to only build virtualbox.

Offline

#17 2017-10-26 07:39:13

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

Sent. BTW, I think also my machine builds with two cores. I'll try to find out how to make virtualbox respect the MAKEFLAGS.

Offline

#18 2017-10-26 08:31:24

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

bin/build-packages -p virtualbox
come back later - there are still packages to be built, but currently none has all its dependencies ready
get-assignment told me:
2: come back later - there are still packages to be built,
but currently none has all its dependencies ready

mmh? :-)

Offline

#19 2017-10-26 08:32:37

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

hmm, I guess I made a mistake and it does not hand out blocked packages ... let me check

Offline

#20 2017-10-26 08:40:34

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

yep, should be fixed, now

Offline

#21 2017-10-26 08:44:32

deep42thought
Administrator
From: Jena, Germany
Registered: 2017-06-17
Posts: 608

Re: community/virtualbox

it might be, though, that you still won't be able to build this package curretly, because s-nail is seen as a dependency, which is still on the build list at the moment.

Offline

#22 2017-10-26 09:44:05

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

I checked in a patch to PKGBUILD forcing `kmk` to `kmk -j 1`. At least on my
machine I have now only one CPU occupied building virtualbox. Maybe this
will work now also on the other slaves?

Offline

#23 2017-10-26 18:55:16

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

mmh. built and uploaded, but now it's signed with my key (which is not known to pacman).

And I get:

gpg: signing failed: Timeout6_64 package(s) ...
gpg: signing failed: Timeout
done.
The following packages should have been built but are missing or vice versa:
expected: virtualbox-guest-dkms i686
'return-assignment' reports too many or missing packages.
find: '/data/work/archlinux32/builder/bin/../work/tmp.UWIQhF': No such file or directory

So maybe it's better to build it on the official slave?

Offline

#24 2017-10-26 19:09:27

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

...and something got stuck, the build master status still shows:

2017-10-26 15:10    virtualbox    7147fc571eb69b6c646c20ef7ab4169e5e9bed3b    27c128cab8c098dc93de5ef5be34fbbe7b3cab77    community    abaumann

Offline

#25 2017-10-27 19:28:48

andreas_baumann
Administrator
From: Zurich, Switzerland
Registered: 2017-08-10
Posts: 823
Website

Re: community/virtualbox

virtualbox.7147fc571eb69b6c646c20ef7ab4169e5e9bed3b.27c128cab8c098dc93de5ef5be34fbbe7b3cab77.community.2017-10-27T05:21:38.build-log

virtual memory exhausted: Operation not permitted

happens again also with 'kmk -j 1'

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB