You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-13 11:17:06

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 21

[SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

I have a problem with a new installation of my EeePC 1000H.

Everything works fine except the mkinitcpio process:

Creating temporary files...
error: command failed to execute correctly

After reboot I stuck at Grub. Is this  some problem with systemd 240 or the kernel 5.0.6 or is there another reason?

Last edited by redqueen (2019-04-16 15:22:19)

Offline

#2 2019-04-13 18:11:35

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 431

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

Yes, if you haven't created a valid initcpio you won't be able to boot, and it won't have written the menu entries into grub.  I take it since you're in the installation process, having the right perms shouldn't be an issue; you should be logged in as root.  I'm not sure where the temp files are created, but if they're in a tmpfs, you'll need the ram to be able to handle that, but I assume your 1000H came with at least 1GB of RAM like my EeePC900 did originally, and to be honest that should be plenty.  A 'mount|grep /tmp' should show you how that's mounted though.  I guess it's set up again when you archchroot into your new FS.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#3 2019-04-14 11:44:00

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

My 1000H is upgraded to 2 GB RAM, and the harddrive is a 250GB SSD. I have set swap to 4 GB, and my /home is 25GB /root has 15GB.
Older installations worked without that error, but now I end at the Grub rescue shell.

Any suggestions how to fix this?

Offline

#4 2019-04-14 13:19:13

alf9000
Member
Registered: 2019-02-20
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

Please post us *all* details from the failing step during installation:

mkinitcpio --verbose -P

Offline

#5 2019-04-16 10:52:13

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

I tried now mkinitcpio --verbose -p.
It showed no errors except the ususal missing firmware warnings.

So I chrooted into system and rebuild initramfs with mkinitcpio -p linux.
It worked!

I think I'll use a common pacman -S command instead pacstrap next time.

Last edited by redqueen (2019-04-16 10:52:35)

Offline

#6 2019-04-16 13:51:41

alf9000
Member
Registered: 2019-02-20
Posts: 6

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

The sequence seems wrong, 1st mount the FS then chroot, then mkinitcpio --verbose -p.
Nevertheless - if it works now you can edit the title in your 1st post to a preceding [SOLVED] ...

And: As far as I know, installation of a whole new system can't be done with pacman, for this you need pacstrap.
Next time it would be useful to have complete logs here, incl. the used exact command line :-)

Offline

#7 2019-04-16 15:21:36

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

alf9000 wrote:

The sequence seems wrong, 1st mount the FS then chroot, then mkinitcpio --verbose -p.

Yes thats what I did, but didn't wrote here.

alf9000 wrote:

And: As far as I know, installation of a whole new system can't be done with pacman, for this you need pacstrap.

It's possible if you chroot first. pacstrap is only a script.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … e_packages

Offline

#8 2019-08-18 16:33:20

Danfossvlfbksnouri
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2018-04-16
Posts: 1
Website

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

Theres 4 errors that are all different thing erroring and i dont think any of them have anything to do with the game crashing. Theres no new errors when i crash the game.

The game just hangs for a splitsecond and exits like you had pushed altf4.

Offline

#9 2019-08-18 17:15:56

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 431

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

The above message appears to be entirely out of context, and carried commercial looking links.  I've therefore disabled the links, but I'm leaving the post here in case it was just posted in error, but my suspicion is this is a spammer trying to cover his tracks.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB