You are not logged in.

#1 2019-04-13 11:17:06

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 13

[SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

I have a problem with a new installation of my EeePC 1000H.

Everything works fine except the mkinitcpio process:

Creating temporary files...
error: command failed to execute correctly

After reboot I stuck at Grub. Is this  some problem with systemd 240 or the kernel 5.0.6 or is there another reason?

Last edited by redqueen (2019-04-16 15:22:19)

Offline

#2 2019-04-13 18:11:35

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 254

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

Yes, if you haven't created a valid initcpio you won't be able to boot, and it won't have written the menu entries into grub.  I take it since you're in the installation process, having the right perms shouldn't be an issue; you should be logged in as root.  I'm not sure where the temp files are created, but if they're in a tmpfs, you'll need the ram to be able to handle that, but I assume your 1000H came with at least 1GB of RAM like my EeePC900 did originally, and to be honest that should be plenty.  A 'mount|grep /tmp' should show you how that's mounted though.  I guess it's set up again when you archchroot into your new FS.

Offline

#3 2019-04-14 11:44:00

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

My 1000H is upgraded to 2 GB RAM, and the harddrive is a 250GB SSD. I have set swap to 4 GB, and my /home is 25GB /root has 15GB.
Older installations worked without that error, but now I end at the Grub rescue shell.

Any suggestions how to fix this?

Offline

#4 2019-04-14 13:19:13

alf9000
Member
Registered: 2019-02-20
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

Please post us *all* details from the failing step during installation:

mkinitcpio --verbose -P

Offline

#5 2019-04-16 10:52:13

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

I tried now mkinitcpio --verbose -p.
It showed no errors except the ususal missing firmware warnings.

So I chrooted into system and rebuild initramfs with mkinitcpio -p linux.
It worked!

I think I'll use a common pacman -S command instead pacstrap next time.

Last edited by redqueen (2019-04-16 10:52:35)

Offline

#6 2019-04-16 13:51:41

alf9000
Member
Registered: 2019-02-20
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

The sequence seems wrong, 1st mount the FS then chroot, then mkinitcpio --verbose -p.
Nevertheless - if it works now you can edit the title in your 1st post to a preceding [SOLVED] ...

And: As far as I know, installation of a whole new system can't be done with pacman, for this you need pacstrap.
Next time it would be useful to have complete logs here, incl. the used exact command line :-)

Offline

#7 2019-04-16 15:21:36

redqueen
Member
Registered: 2017-12-27
Posts: 13

Re: [SOLVED] mkinitcpio Bug while installation

alf9000 wrote:

The sequence seems wrong, 1st mount the FS then chroot, then mkinitcpio --verbose -p.

Yes thats what I did, but didn't wrote here.

alf9000 wrote:

And: As far as I know, installation of a whole new system can't be done with pacman, for this you need pacstrap.

It's possible if you chroot first. pacstrap is only a script.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/In … e_packages

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB