You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-08 17:03:52

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Can't load DE

Hello, I recently found an old laptop I had lying around and wanted to make it a usable enough backup machine.
It's a Thinkpad X30, pentium3m @1.2GHz, Intel 82830M/MG iGPU, 731MiB of pc133 sodimm ram, changed network card to BCM4318 because a windows update makes the original one stop working with linux and windows versions older than XP.
I managed to install first debian buster (minimal network install) with lightdm and lxqt, then moved to stretch because I couldn't get netsurf (the only browser that would run okay on this thing) to compile and it wasn't available on the buster repo.
Now I successfully installed arch32 on it and almost everything to work, but I can't get lightdm to show up, even worst I get errors when I try to run startlxqt

 could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in ¨¨ even tough it was found 

or startx from tty2.

In the mean time I post this while I get the access point to work (my tower PC is connected to it) and set up an ssh server on the Thinkpad so I can copypaste the log for both startx and lxqt.

Please send suggestions on what do you need (i will send the output of lspci for sure) to troubleshoot the problem.
Suggestions on alternative (preferably easy enough to configure) DE/DM are welcome too.   smile

Last edited by Sonno (2021-04-08 17:05:17)

Offline

#2 2021-04-08 18:16:22

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

Here's the logs

startx

[   431.423] (II) systemd-logind: took control of session /org/freedesktop/login1/session/_31
[   431.425] (II) xfree86: Adding drm device (/dev/dri/card0)
[   431.429] (II) systemd-logind: got fd for /dev/dri/card0 226:0 fd 10 paused 0
[   431.439] (--) PCI:*(0@0:2:0) 8086:3577:1014:0513 rev 4, Mem @ 0xe0000000/134217728, 0xd0000000/524288, BIOS @ 0x????????/131072
[   431.439] (--) PCI: (0@0:2:1) 8086:3577:1014:0513 rev 0, Mem @ 0xe8000000/134217728, 0xd0080000/524288
[   431.439] (II) LoadModule: "glx"
[   431.440] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so
[   431.446] (II) Module glx: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   431.446] 	compiled for 1.20.10, module version = 1.0.0
[   431.446] 	ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 10.0
[   431.446] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 0
[   431.446] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[   431.446] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[   431.446] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3
[   431.446] (==) Assigned the driver to the xf86ConfigLayout
[   431.446] (II) LoadModule: "intel"
[   431.447] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so
[   431.448] (II) Module intel: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   431.448] 	compiled for 1.20.10, module version = 2.99.917
[   431.448] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   431.448] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 24.1
[   431.448] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[   431.449] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so
[   431.451] (II) Module modesetting: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   431.451] 	compiled for 1.20.10, module version = 1.20.10
[   431.451] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   431.451] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 24.1
[   431.451] (II) LoadModule: "fbdev"
[   431.452] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module fbdev
[   431.452] (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
[   431.452] (II) LoadModule: "vesa"
[   431.452] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
[   431.453] (II) Module vesa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   431.453] 	compiled for 1.20.10, module version = 2.5.0
[   431.453] 	Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   431.453] 	ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 24.1
[   431.453] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Integrated Graphics Chipsets:
	i810, i810-dc100, i810e, i815, i830M, 845G, 854, 852GM/855GM, 865G,
	915G, E7221 (i915), 915GM, 945G, 945GM, 945GME, Pineview GM,
	Pineview G, 965G, G35, 965Q, 946GZ, 965GM, 965GME/GLE, G33, Q35, Q33,
	GM45, 4 Series, G45/G43, Q45/Q43, G41, B43
[   431.454] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) HD Graphics
[   431.454] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Iris(TM) Graphics
[   431.454] (II) intel: Driver for Intel(R) Iris(TM) Pro Graphics
[   431.454] (II) modesetting: Driver for Modesetting Kernel Drivers: kms
[   431.454] (II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
[   431.455] xf86EnableIOPorts: failed to set IOPL for I/O (Operation not permitted)
[   431.455] (II) intel(0): Using Kernel Mode Setting driver: i915, version 1.6.0 20200917
[   431.455] (II) intel(0): SNA compiled from 2.99.917-916-g31486f40
[   431.455] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
[   431.455] (WW) VGA arbiter: cannot open kernel arbiter, no multi-card support
[   431.456] (--) intel(0): Integrated Graphics Chipset: Intel(R) i830M
[   431.457] (--) intel(0): CPU: x86; using a maximum of 1 threads
[   431.457] (II) intel(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section
	"Default Screen Section" for depth/fbbpp 24/32
[   431.457] (==) intel(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[   431.457] (==) intel(0): RGB weight 888
[   431.457] (==) intel(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[   431.459] (WW) intel(0): Unable to reserve memory for GPU, disabling acceleration.
[   431.462] (EE) 
[   431.463] (EE) Backtrace:
[   431.463] (EE) 0: /usr/lib/Xorg (xorg_backtrace+0x52) [0x59be82]
[   431.463] (EE) 1: /usr/lib/Xorg (0x461000+0x145e62) [0x5a6e62]
[   431.463] (EE) 2: linux-gate.so.1 (__kernel_rt_sigreturn+0x0) [0xb7ed5560]
[   431.463] (EE) 3: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so (0xb6ba5000+0x1c6ec) [0xb6bc16ec]
[   431.463] (EE) 4: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so (0xb6ba5000+0x27c1d) [0xb6bccc1d]
[   431.464] (EE) 5: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/intel_drv.so (0xb6ba5000+0x77843) [0xb6c1c843]
[   431.464] (EE) 6: /usr/lib/Xorg (InitOutput+0x177d) [0x5c38cd]
[   431.464] (EE) 7: /usr/lib/Xorg (0x461000+0x2a3cb) [0x48b3cb]
[   431.464] (EE) 8: /usr/lib/libc.so.6 (__libc_start_main+0xed) [0xb79e298d]
[   431.464] (EE) 9: /usr/lib/Xorg (_start+0x35) [0x48c5c5]
[   431.464] (EE) 
[   431.464] (EE) Illegal instruction at address 0xb6bc16ec
[   431.464] (EE) 
Fatal server error:
[   431.465] (EE) Caught signal 4 (Illegal instruction). Server aborting
[   431.465] (EE) 
[   431.465] (EE) 
Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support 
	 at http://wiki.x.org
 for help. 
[   431.465] (EE) Please also check the log file at "/home/sonno/.local/share/xorg/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
[   431.465] (EE) 
[   431.495] (EE) Server terminated with error (1). Closing log file.

startlxqt

qt.qpa.xcb: could not connect to display 
qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Available platform plugins are: eglfs, linuxfb, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, vnc, wayland-egl, wayland, wayland-xcomposite-egl, wayland-xcomposite-glx, xcb.

Aborted (core dumped) 

lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82830M/MG/MP Host Bridge (rev 04)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82830M/MG Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 04)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82830M/MG Integrated Graphics Controller
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 42)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801CAM ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801CAM IDE U100 Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev a8)
01:00.1 CardBus bridge: Ricoh Co Ltd RL5c476 II (rev a8)
01:00.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C552 IEEE 1394 Controller
01:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
01:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801CAM (ICH3) PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller (rev 42)

Offline

#3 2021-04-08 20:11:24

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 877

Re: Can't load DE

Yes, on running keepassXC I get this:

qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Seems QT stuff is broken at present.  What problems were you having with lightdm?  I've successfully run that in the past, as I recall, although more recently I've decided that running X as root is an unnecessary risk.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#4 2021-04-08 20:35:14

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 288
Website

Re: Can't load DE

My first suspicion is "Illegal instruction" pointing to an unsupported CPU instruction in 'xf86-video-intel'.

Offline

#5 2021-04-08 21:43:59

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

levi wrote:

What problems were you having with lightdm?

I just get a black screen, but actually it didn't throw me any error.

levi wrote:

I've successfully run that in the past, as I recall, although more recently I've decided that running X as root is an unnecessary risk.

What are you using now? Just asking because I mainly use what "works" as-is (so debian+plasma or lxqt and on newer machines I'm trying Manjaro) because I have exams to prepare and I can't to toy around with the laptop I use for university xD
Also what DE you suggest I should try? I don't really like LXDE, I'm thinking of giving a try WindowMaker but I haven't seen a lot of people using it.

One last thing: should I try to reinstall this machine with lxde (and lightdm?) to check if it was only a Qt problem?

Last edited by Sonno (2021-04-08 21:46:34)

Offline

#6 2021-04-08 21:46:11

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

abaumann wrote:

My first suspicion is "Illegal instruction" pointing to an unsupported CPU instruction in 'xf86-video-intel'.

technically  the intel driver supports the i810 family too, and my i830 (82830MG) is from that family of iGPUs, so it doesn't make much sense?
what could be the the problem?

Offline

#7 2021-04-08 22:15:22

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 877

Re: Can't load DE

Sonno wrote:

What are you using now? Just asking because I mainly use what "works" as-is (so debian+plasma or lxqt and on newer machines I'm trying Manjaro) because I have exams to prepare and I can't to toy around with the laptop I use for university xD
Also what DE you suggest I should try? I don't really like LXDE, I'm thinking of giving a try WindowMaker but I haven't seen a lot of people using it.

One last thing: should I try to reinstall this machine with lxde (and lightdm?) to check if it was only a Qt problem?

I log in to a text mode buffer then issue a startx.  My DE is a kind of openbox/lxde type thing, very bare metal but functional enough for me.  I used to use archlinux orginally on a pentum3 desktop without any kind of GPU, and I didn't manage to find an X DE that was usable, but you claim to have an 'iGPU' so I don't know.

I think the QT problem is what stopped you running LXQT but this issue of illegal instructions might still bite, even if you avoid anything QT.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#8 2021-04-08 22:43:05

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

levi wrote:

I used to use archlinux orginally on a pentum3 desktop without any kind of GPU, and I didn't manage to find an X DE that was usable, but you claim to have an 'iGPU' so I don't know.

the pentium3 had no integrated graphics, so
1)I use the iGPU term kinda not appropriately
2)you can't output anything without the GPU tongue
intel until 2010 put the "iGPU" in the northbridge on the motherboard instead of in the CPU.
the intel gpus were more common in laptops, while ati usually was more used (at least in the trashed motherboards that i found that are from around the year 2000) in tower PCs

levi wrote:

I think the QT problem is what stopped you running LXQT but this issue of illegal instructions might still bite, even if you avoid anything QT.

Now I'm trying to reinstall with only LXDE, i hope to finish in half a hour xD

Offline

#9 2021-04-08 23:04:57

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 877

Re: Can't load DE

Yes, the machine clearly had some kind of framebuffer, and a VGA port, but given the performance of DEs like LXDE on it I'd hesitate to say it even had a half-decent blitter in it.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#10 2021-04-09 00:01:36

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

at the end I get "cannot open display" when i do startlxde
I think I will close this for tonight, help is still wanted, if someone needs more logs just ask
good night

Offline

#11 2021-04-09 10:21:24

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

I was looking around and it seems that the cpu I´m using is missing AVX and AVX2 instructions (duh) and it seems that mesa requires them on the latest versions.
What version of mesa are you using (and on what cpu)? I´m on 20.3.4-2.0
Debian buster is on mesa 18.3.6-2 so before mesa made the change (around 19.3.4) so maybe that´s why it worked there.
So now I need to confirm if this is the problem and I need to try an older version of mesa (if i do pacman -U from here http://archive.archlinux32.org/packages/m/mesa/ it should work, right?) or find if I can compile myself the newer versions with some flags that remove the need of those instruction sets.

Hope to hear some feedback smile

Offline

#12 2021-04-09 15:55:50

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 877

Re: Can't load DE

Yes, if mesa 18 is worth a try you can try to download an old copy from the archive and then install it using the -U flag to pacman.  Beware though, I'd expect other stuff to demand a newer version of mesa so you might end up in a dependency mess.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#13 2021-04-09 16:06:49

Sonno
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 8

Re: Can't load DE

levi wrote:

Yes, if mesa 18 is worth a try you can try to download an old copy from the archive and then install it using the -U flag to pacman.  Beware though, I'd expect other stuff to demand a newer version of mesa so you might end up in a dependency mess.

I broke the whole installation in fact xD
Now I downloaded the 2019/07/16 iso and I try with that, first i change the pacman config to around that date and then install everything.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB