You are not logged in.

#1 2022-01-09 06:57:47

CivilizedGuide
Member
Registered: 2022-01-07
Posts: 4

How do I build a ISO

Hi, I am having trouble trying to build an iso. I'm assuming that im doing it the wrong way cuz im stupid.
Running sudo ./build.sh returns the following error:

ERROR: Profile '/home/civilized/Documents/archiso32/configs/releng/install' does not exist!

hope you can help me and hope that I don't look too stupid

Offline

#2 2022-01-12 13:30:38

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: How do I build a ISO

Hi, sorry for the late answer.

You find information here:
- https://git.archlinux32.org/archiso32/: the adapted standard ISO for i686/pentium4 following upstream
- https://git.archlinux32.org/archi486/: an unfinished and alpha ISO for i486 with limited memory (not following upstream at all)
- https://git.archlinux32.org/releng/: the build-* scripts. they work on our infrastructure only, but they can serve as a source of inspiration :-)

Offline

#3 2022-01-13 20:25:59

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: How do I build a ISO

The instructions in https://git.archlinux32.org/releng/ are weird:
build-i686 and build-dual look like old Vagrant scripts and look fairly obsolete
build-isos completely fails for me: my mkarchiso (from archiso32) has a different syntax (init install prepare etc.),
also I get errors like [mkarchiso] ERROR: The file 'work/iso/isolinux/isolinux.bin' does not exist.
I cannot find instructions upstream how to properly use mkarchiso (call init, then install or what in what order with
which parameters).

I'm lost and cannot build an ISO.. :-)

Offline

#4 2022-01-15 07:39:08

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: How do I build a ISO

My 486 CDROM build script is broken at the moment, it copies a strange menu onto the ISO (I cannot remember adding the Hardware detection tool there?),
I suspect a problem in syslinux on the host. Also it boots /dev/sda3 (I fail to see where this comes from, the sda3 is a RAID on my machine). And quite some
of the boot parameter  (/dev/sr0 is not always the boot device).

Offline

#5 2022-02-11 20:20:01

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: How do I build a ISO

The standard ISO has now been updated and rebuilt with mkinitcpio-archiso32, archinstall32 (both currently are still the same as uptream), archiso32 and releng.
The i486 ISO is still broken..

Offline

#6 2022-02-11 21:20:58

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,179

Re: How do I build a ISO

Ah so we still need to say no to using zram like the news article says.

Last edited by levi (2022-02-11 21:21:42)


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

#7 2022-02-12 07:19:25

abaumann
Administrator
From: Zurich
Registered: 2019-11-14
Posts: 810
Website

Re: How do I build a ISO

Yes, and archinstall is rough around some corners (like partitioning).
zram is not an option when you want to hibernate, then you need a swap partition.
I find it far easier for me to use fdisk than archinstall to do the partitioning, but I guess, that's personal taste.

Offline

#8 2022-02-12 08:29:35

levi
Moderator
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2018-06-16
Posts: 1,179

Re: How do I build a ISO

Yes, I also prefer to use fdisk than letting installers do it.  I remember installing Debian Squeeze on this laptop, and in its partitioning gui I couldn't grok exactly what it was going to do, but at least I was going to blat the entire disk, so it was only a matter of having to rerun the installer if I got it wrong.  If I was trying to preserve an other OS partition I'd have had no chance.


Architecture: pentium4, Testing repos: Yes, Hardware: EeePC 901+2GB RAM+OS half on the SD card.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB